Need clarification on Draw4 rule. Player 1 lays down a Draw4 card and says the color is Red. Player 2 does not have a Red card but has a Draw4 card. Can Player 2 lay down his Draw4 card and have Player 3 draw 8 cards?


Not under the standard rules - there is no ability to respond to a Wild +4 (or a +2 for that matter). If the previous player to you played one of those cards, you take the cards and the turn pass.

"Stacking" + cards is a common house rule, but we obviously can't tell you what your house rules are.

  • This was recently clarified by the designers of Uno on their twitter thread. – Soulus101 May 8 at 14:44

No, it's not valid to do so since according to the Mattel's UNO rules the next player forfeit their turn and MUST draw 4 cards from the pile.

From mattel.com: https://service.mattel.com/instruction_sheets/42001pr.pdf

Wild Draw 4 Card - This card allows you to call the next color played and requires the next player to pick 4 cards from the DRAW pile and FORFEIT his/her turn.

Note: Stacking or Progressive UNO, i.e. playing a Draw 4 card on top of another Draw 4 card, is a common house rule used by many.


I'm guessing this question is a reference to a tweet that was viral over last few days. So direct from source.....

If someone puts down a +4 card, you must draw 4 and your turn is skipped. You can’t put down a +2 to make the next person Draw 6. We know you’ve tried it. #UNO pic.twitter.com/wOegca4r0h

— UNO (@realUNOgame) May 4, 2019

According to official rules, if a player plays a Wild Draw 4 card on you, you can only:

  1. Draw 4 cards.
  2. You may challenge that player, if you suspect that a Wild Draw 4 card has been played on you illegally (i.e. the player has a matching card). The challenged player must show you their hand. If guilty, the challenged player must draw the 4 cards instead of you. However, if the challenged player is innocent, you must draw the 4 cards PLUS an additional 2 cards (6 total).

Reference: https://service.mattel.com/instruction_sheets/UNO%20Basic%20IS.pdf

  • 1
    This does not appear to add anything new to the question that was not addressed in a previous answer. – Joe W May 21 at 14:48
  • I am answering EXACTLY what you can do when someone throws a "Draw 4" card. – Daniel G. Blázquez May 21 at 15:03
  • 1
    But you don't answer the question about the common house rule of stacking draw cards. The only thing that was really new to the question is the challenge rule which wasn't being asked about. – Joe W May 21 at 15:38
  • I agree with Joe W that the question was about the stacking house rule and your answer is about something else that wasn't asked about. – Ola Ström May 21 at 22:30
  • I am sure there will be people who appreciate this clarification that complements the rest of the answers. Thank you – Daniel G. Blázquez May 22 at 10:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.