10

Does Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi trigger the ability of Simic Ascendancy?

Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi says:

Put nine +1/+1 counters on target land you control. It becomes a legendary 0/0 Elemental creature with haste named Vitu-Ghazi.

So either the land gets the +1/+1 counters and afterwards becomes a creature. Or it becomes a creature and then receives the +1/+1 counters.

To me the last assumption seems correct because it is irritating to me to be able to put +1/+1 counters on a land.

  • It was probably done that way to avoid the situation where you temporarily have a 0/0 creature. It wouldn't be a problem because SBAs aren't checked during the resolution of a spell, but it would confuse some people. – ikegami May 10 at 21:16
  • @ikegami well amass does exactly do this. Create a 0/0 token and then put +1/+1 counters on it. – bautista May 13 at 6:05
  • Amass was probably done that way to keep the text short. It avoids an entire "otherwise" clause. – ikegami May 13 at 18:45
15

The two actions (adding counters and the permanent type change) are two different steps of the same spell. That means they're executed separately:

608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.

There's no rule prohibiting +1/+1 counters on a non-creature permanent. For example, the land Llanowar Reborn enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter.

So unfortunately Simic Ascendancy wouldn't trigger, as the counters are put on the land while it's not a creature yet.

Simic Ascendancy would trigger if the land was already also a creature prior to the spell resolving: for example, casting Awakening a second time on the same animated land, or casting it on a land that was animated by Nissa, Who Shakes the World.

  • damn. thanks for clarification, I thought I was on something there ☺ – bautista May 10 at 8:40
  • 7
    @bautista however if you animate it first with Nissa, then cast awakening, it does work... – fireshark519 May 10 at 9:54
  • 2
    And of course, there's always Dryad Arbor – ikegami May 10 at 21:17
  • @ike but unfortunately not standard legal – bautista May 21 at 7:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.