When player 1 has placed a house on a city, can player 2 place his/her first house on a city in the same coloured area as player 1's house, or must player 2 start in a different coloured area?

1 Answer 1


Players can put their starting house in any city that another player does not have a house, including one that shares a region with another player's starting house (as long as its in one of the regions that are in play for that game).

The rules state:

Each player starts his network by choosing any city (not already chosen by another player) in the playing areas (chosen at the beginning of the game) on the map.

Players have to be able to play in the same region as another player because in a 6 player game, there are only 5 regions in play, and so at least two players will start in the same region.

Regions only matter for what areas are and aren't in play. They have no other effect on game-play.

  • How would the regions be selected? Commented May 11, 2019 at 19:40
  • 1
    @RobertMiller the regions are selected at the start of the game by whatever mechanism you want (you chose, all players agree, or choose at random are typical methods)
    – Zags
    Commented May 11, 2019 at 19:54
  • As a justification for 2 players starting in the same region, you state that «... in a 6 player game, there are only 5 regions in play,» The maps I have seen all have 7 regions. Why would only 5 be used in a 6 player game? Commented Jul 24, 2020 at 18:23
  • @RobertMiller USA, Germany, China, and Korea all have 6 regions. What maps are you looking at?
    – Zags
    Commented Jul 26, 2020 at 19:43
  • My mistake, I meant the maps I have seen have 6 regions (not 7), so why, in a 6-player game, would we use only 5 regions if 6 are available? We use USA and Germany, of course, and France, Italy, UK, Québec, Brazil, Spain & Portugal, Northern Europe, United Kingdom & Ireland... Commented Jul 26, 2020 at 23:43

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .