8

Does The Wanderer's static ability prevent 'destroy' or 'exile' effects from working? In a recent game, I had it out and my opponent tried to cast Doom Blade on a creature. I argued that it shouldn't work, and he said it should have.

11

Damage is one of the ways a creature can be destroyed, but it's not the only way. The Wanderer only prevents (non-combat) damage, not other "destroy" effects like Doom Blade.

701.7. Destroy

701.7a To destroy a permanent, move it from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard.

701.7b The only ways a permanent can be destroyed are as a result of an effect that uses the word “destroy” or as a result of the state-based actions that check for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g) or damage from a source with deathtouch (see rule 704.5h). If a permanent is put into its owner’s graveyard for any other reason, it hasn’t been “destroyed.”

  • In other words if your opponent cast something that said "deal five damage to target creature", then The Wanderer will prevent the damage; it cannot however protect against Doom Blade. – Allure May 18 at 23:19
  • Since the question is about what counts as damage, not what counts as being destroyed; it would be helpful to list the ways damage can happen. Unfortunately there doesn’t seem to be a simple rule as straightforward as 701.7b, except for damage instead of destroy. – GendoIkari May 19 at 14:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.