6

I'm quite new to MtG, so this may be a noob question. I play EDH/Commander with Edgar Markov as my commander. His text reads "Eminence - Whenever you cast another Vampire spell, if Edgar Markov is in the command zone or on the battlefield, create a 1/1 black Vampire creature token".

Obviously this will trigger for vampire creature spells ("Vampire Cutthroat", ""Pulse Tracker", "Crypt Ghast" etc), but will it trigger for other spells? For instance, are instants like "Vampire's Zeal" and ""Vampire's Bite" or enchantments like "Mark of the Vampire" considered "Vampire spells"?

I have a hunch that cards that contain the word "Vampire" in their name or type line are concidered vampire spells, but that cards with the word in their text box are not. Is this correct?

13

A Vampire spell (for the purpose of Edgar Markov) is a spell which has the Vampire (sub)type; its name doesn't matter. You can find the type(s) in the bar between the picture and the rules text. Vampire Cutthroat is a "Creature - Vampire Rogue", so it counts; Mark of the Vampire is an "Enchantment - Aura", so it doesn't count.

There are no non-creature spells which explicitly have the Vampire subtype, as this Gatherer search shows. There are non-creature spells which have all creature types thanks to the Changeling ability, such as Crib Swap; this search lists all 6 of them.

  • All current Vampire spells are creatures, see here – Hackworth May 22 at 6:45
  • 3
    @Hackworth. These 6 instants are vampires. – ikegami May 22 at 6:58
  • Maybe not needed for a new player, note that as "Vampire" is a creature subtype, it can normally only apply to creatures. But "Tribal" is a special subtype that allows non-creatures to have creature subtypes. – GendoIkari May 22 at 13:29
  • 7
    Nitpick: Tribal is a type, it pumps Tarmogoyf. – Caleth May 22 at 14:06
  • 4
    Tribal is weird in a lot of ways (which is why it isn't printed anymore). It is technically a type (which only matters for Tarmogoyf, and maybe a few other cards), but it acts like a supertype. – Arcanist Lupus May 22 at 21:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.