2

Majesty's Fiend is on the field. It says

Cannot be Special Summoned. Monster effects cannot be activated.

If all Exodia cards are collected, does Exodia's player win even though Majesty's Fiend prevents Monster effects from happening?

4

If all Exodia cards collected, does Exodia's player win?

Yes, the player will win.

The reason is because Exodia has a win condition not an effect. From its rulings, emphasis mine:

When you add the fifth piece to your hand and declare that you win the Duel, you are using a victory condition. You are not activating a monster's effect, so "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" cannot be activated

This means that Majesty's Fiend, who negates effects, won't be able to prevent the player from wining. From its text, emphasis mine:

Cannot be Special Summoned. Monster effects cannot be activated.

  • I've been playing YuGiOh for years and this is the first time I know about "victory condition"! – evilReiko May 23 at 19:20
  • 1
    There are a few cards with such conditions. See this answer of mine for a list of those (I even happen to mention Exodia at the end). Welcome to Board & Card games BTW :D – DarkCygnus May 23 at 19:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.