-1

Can Aminatou, the Fateshifter target herself with her -1 ability?

If this is the case, does it mean that she can create an infinite loop of "ETB" by herself?

9

Aminatou, the Fateshifter cannot target herself with her -1 ability, because her ability says "another target permanent", which means she can target any permanent you own except for herself.

−1: Exile another target permanent you own, then return it to the battlefield under your control.

  • Of course, if you have Nicol Bolas, Dragon God, or Spark Double, you can create a loop by having each planeswalker bounce the other one. Of course, this won't be an infinite loop, merely an arbitrarily large one, and it doesn't do anything without something that triggers on planeswalkers entering or leaving the battlefield, but it does work. Saheeli Rai and Felidar Gaurdian were used for a similar loop (until it got banned for being too powerful in Standard) – Arcanist Lupus May 27 at 6:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.