1

In The Fishermen of Catan, if a player has 7 fish tokens and a roll would have them receive more, can they discard the ones they don't want to draw the new ones?

1

Yes.


In the original scenario named The Fishermen of Catan, there was no limit to how many fish tokens could be kept. A revised version was published in Traders & Barbarians. This version included the following rule:

7 fish tokens at most: You are not allowed to have more than 7 fish tokens at any one time. If you already have 7 fish tokens and would obtain another 1 or 2 fish tokens for a settlement or city, you may exchange one of your fish tokens with a fish token from the supply (hoping for a token with more fish on it).

So if you couldn't draw a fish tile because you already have 7, you may first discard one of your fish tokens.

However, it's not clear exactly when and how often this can be done.

  • What if you have 6 fish tokens and would obtain 2 from a city?
  • What if you have 6 fish tokens and would obtain 1 each of two settlements?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 2 from a city?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 1 each of two settlements?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 1 from a settlement and 2 from a city?

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.