1

In The Fishermen of Catan, if a player has 7 fish tokens and a roll would have them receive more, can they discard the ones they don't want to draw the new ones?

1 Answer 1

1

Yes.


In the original scenario named The Fishermen of Catan, there was no limit to how many fish tokens could be kept. A revised version was published in Traders & Barbarians. This version included the following rule:

7 fish tokens at most: You are not allowed to have more than 7 fish tokens at any one time. If you already have 7 fish tokens and would obtain another 1 or 2 fish tokens for a settlement or city, you may exchange one of your fish tokens with a fish token from the supply (hoping for a token with more fish on it).

So if you couldn't draw a fish tile because you already have 7, you may first discard one of your fish tokens.

However, it's not clear exactly when and how often this can be done.

  • What if you have 6 fish tokens and would obtain 2 from a city?
  • What if you have 6 fish tokens and would obtain 1 each of two settlements?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 2 from a city?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 1 each of two settlements?
  • What if you have 7 fish tokens and would obtain 1 from a settlement and 2 from a city?

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .