10

Sharktocrab reads

Whenever one or more +1/+1 counters are put on Sharktocrab, tap target creature an opponent controls. That creature doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.

If I were to put two +1/+1 counters on it at once, by playing Vivien of the Arkbow, then its ability would only trigger once.

But what about Roalesk, Apex Hybrid, which reads

When Roalesk dies, proliferate, then proliferate again.

The first ability is placing a counter on Sharktocrab, just like when I use Vivien. But the Roalesk then places another counter separately. Would Sharktocrab therefore trigger twice?

  • 1
    Count the instructions (verbs). Everything an instruction has you do is done simultaneously, but each instruction is performed in turn. – ikegami Jun 8 at 10:11
  • @ikegami though there are exceptions, like drawing multiple cards. – GendoIkari Jun 8 at 14:45
12

Yes, it would.

Even though no one gets priority in between the instructions "proliferate" and "then proliferate again"; each instruction is still a separate instance, and Sharktocrab's ability will trigger after each of them.

Abilities trigger as soon as the relevant event happens; they don't wait to trigger until an entire ability is done resolving.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.