3

I have a question regarding MTG rules and how can be applied. In this case, it's about lands that can become creatures. I was checking this one-mana EDH deck, and I saw that the Commander has this ability:

Horde of Notions {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}

Legendary Creature — Elemental (5/5)

Vigilance, trample, haste

{W}{U}{B}{R}{G}: You may play target Elemental card from your graveyard without paying its mana cost.

Even the oldest treefolk was but an acorn when Lorwyn’s first mysteries were born.

I was wondering: if the land was killed and sent to the graveyard while being a creature by any X reason (say "Lightning bolt"), is it possible to retrieve it back using this ability? For example, Celestial Colonnade can turn into an Elemental until end of turn.

  • 4
    Please do not include deck lists in questions like this. They're simply not relevant. You can instead refer to a specific cards that are relevant to your question. The edit I've made to your question shows what I mean – murgatroid99 Jun 21 at 0:59
8

No, Horde of Notions cannot do anything with a land card that died as a creature. The key rule is rule 400.7:

An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence.

If a land card like Celestial Colonnade dies as a creature, the effect that made it a creature doesn't continue to apply to the card in the graveyard. While it's in the graveyard, it's just a land card.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.