In Ticket to Ride UK, when the Southampton to New York route is claimed, does the claimant receive the points for laying down train cars in addition to the 40 points stated on the board?
If so, how many points do they get?
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this communityIn Ticket to Ride UK, when the Southampton to New York route is claimed, does the claimant receive the points for laying down train cars in addition to the 40 points stated on the board?
If so, how many points do they get?
Nothing extra. 40 points is the amount gained for a 10-car route.
The progression of the number of points earned per car is roughly linear.
Length Points PerCar Maps
------ ------ ------ -------------------------------
1 1 1.00 [Common]
2 2 1.00 [Common]
3 4 1.33 [Common]
4 7 1.75 [Common]
5 10 2.00 [Common]
6 15 2.50 [Common]
7 18 2.57 Germany (x4), Pennsylvania (x1)
8 21 2.63 Europe (x1), India (x1)
9 27 3.00 Nordic Countries (x1)
10 40 4.00 UK (x1)
As you can see, getting 40 points for a 10-car route fits the regular progression. It wouldn't make sense for the 40 points to be in addition to the roughly 40 points one would expect to get from just laying down the cars.
No. You get 40 points, the largest possible award of points in the game. There is no entry for a 10-wagon route on the points table; there are longer ones, e.g. 18 points for a 7-wagon route on the Pennsylvania map. See comments for more...