3

If I use Felidar Guardian to exile a transformed Soul Seizer I control, does it return as the enchantment and is put in the graveyard, or is it returned as the creature Soul Seizer?

I think exiling makes it lose all properties prior to the exiling, so it should return as the creature, shouldn't it?

  • 3
    If an aura like Ghastly Haunting enters the battlefield like that, it doesn't go to the graveyard, you actually attach it to a legal enchantment target. And if it doesn't have anything to attach to, it would stay in exile instead. – murgatroid99 Jun 27 at 16:40
4

Yes, you are right: the rules say

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule:

But being transformed or not is not listed among the exceptions.

So in exile it's no longer transformed, and it will return to the battlefield as a creature, as that is the 'normal' way for this object to enter the battlefield:

711.8. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.

  • 1
    I suggest quoting rule 711.8 as the rules reference for the last sentence. – murgatroid99 Jun 27 at 16:33
  • Right, that certainly doesn't hurt ... – Glorfindel Jun 27 at 17:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.