When card text says to place a card into exile, and then do something else with that card, what is the purpose of putting it into exile temporarily?
For example, cards often either let your draw from your library into exile, or remove cards from a graveyard into exile, and then cast them from exile. Dire Fleet Daredevil for example.
As someone who did not play for many years, this seems wordy and over complicated. I find myself reading such cards 2 or 3 times before mentally connecting the trigger to the end result without the seemingly pointless intermediate step of exiling cards.
I assume this is a common practice now to avoid some overpowered combo or weird condition. I'd like to have a better understanding of what the rule/card designers accomplish/prevent by having exile as an intermediate step.
Note, I am not asking for an explanation of what exile does in general, nor am I asking why a player would prefer to exile over destroy.