3

I was down to a single tile, a joker, and I wanted to place it next to any set already on the table. However, my opponent said a wild tile must always be played with two other tiles from your hand.
Could I have played the joker in this case?

6

Your opponent is confused. As you can see in the rules:

The Joker:There are two jokers in the game. They can be used for any tile in a set. A joker used in theopening set scores the value of the tiles it represents. A joker can be retrieved from a set on thetable by a player who can replace it during his turn with a tile of the same numerical value andcolor it represents. The tile used to replace the Joker must come from a player's rack and notfrom the table. In the case of a group of 3, the joker can be replaced by the tile of either of the missing colors. A joker that has been replaced must be used in the player's same turn with 2 or more tiles from his rack to make a new set. Players cannot retrieve a joker before they have laid their initial set(s). A set containing a joker can have tiles added to it and can be split apart or have tiles removed from it. The joker has a penalty value of 30 points if it remains on a player'srack at the end of a game.

You can play a single joker from your hand. But, if you replace a joker with another tile, you have to play it with two tiles of your hand.

So you can play the joker.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.