12

When Evolution Sage is in play, it proliferates my board every time a land is dropped. When I drop Blast Zone, it enters with 1 counter on it and then triggers the Sage. So after that the Blast Zone should have 2 counters, right?

  • With proliferate you get to choose whether counters are duplicated on each player/permanent. Therefore, Blast Zone should have either 1 or 2 counters after it drops with Evolution Sage in play. – James Jul 2 at 11:44
  • @James Yeah alright, I guess that was a little confusing. I'm aware that I can choose whether to proliferate or not. I just wanted to know if it was possible on the Blast Zone right when I play it. – Suimon Jul 2 at 11:51
  • Yes, I was betting that you knew. I wrote my comment for any newbies that might get confused. – James Jul 2 at 12:05
15

Yes, it does. Blast Zone's ability modifies how it comes into play, so it's a replacement effect, and not a trigger ability like Evolution Sage's. It doesn't use the stack, and when Evolution Sage's ability resolves, it will have a counter you can proliferate.

If Blast Zone's ability would have read

When Blast Zone enters the battlefield, put a charge counter on it.

you would have to choose which ability triggered first, because you control both abilities; if you'd then choose Blast Zone's ability, Evolution Sage's ability would resolve before Blast Zone's and it would not receive an extra charge counter. But again, that is not the case.

12

Only if you choose to.

Glorfindel's answer is great, but misses this important point. From the reminder text on Evolution Sage, what proliferate actually does is:

Choose any number of permanents and/or players, then give each another counter of each kind already there.

So it's up to you if you want to choose Blast Zone. You could not choose it, in which case it'll still only have one counter. You could even choose your opponent's Blast Zone, if he has one on the board, to mess up opponent's math.

  • 2
    Small nitpick, but that is reminder text, not rules text. Italicized text in parentheses is just there for convenience. Even if the card just said "Proliferate" it would have the same effect. – Captain Man Jul 2 at 20:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.