3

Using Evolutionary Leap to sacrifice a creature such as Pulmonic Sliver (or another sliver w/ Pulmonic on board), in which order does the stack happen? You would place the sacrificed sliver on top, or do the triggers miss the sliver in question sending it to the graveyard?

Evolutionary Leap

G, Sac a creature: Reveal cards from the top of your library until you reveal a creature, put that in your hand.

Pulmonic Sliver

If this permanent would be put into the graveyard you may place it on top of your library instead.

3

Pulmonic Sliver's ability is a replacement effect and doesn't use the stack. That means that when you pay the activation cost for Evolutionary Leap, you may choose to put Pulmonic Sliver on top of your library, and as soon as Evolutionary Leap's ability resolves, it will find that Sliver. Most of the times, that is not what you want, but fortunately Pulmonic Sliver's ability is optional.

4
  • 4
    Note that if the Pulmonic ability were a triggered ability, the result would be essentially the same. – Arthur Jul 2 '19 at 20:48
  • Do you have a quote or link, at least to what replacement effect is? I think this is the first time I've read that term (I'm admittedly casual, tho I do lightly skim posts here regularly). – joedragons Jul 5 '19 at 21:32
  • 1
    @joedragons The official mtg comprehensive rulebook may be found here. It is not meant to be read from start to finish, but rather as a reference work to answer specific questions when they arise. In your case, replacement effects are explained in section 614 (at least that's the section number in my version of the rules, which admittedly is a few months old now). Many answers given in this site (regarding the game mtg, at least) reference this document. – Arthur Jul 7 '19 at 12:40
  • (cont.) Together with Gatherer, it makes up the lion's share of what official rules and rulings are at all available for the game. – Arthur Jul 7 '19 at 12:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.