The question is simple if an effect caused Morophon, the Boundless' enter the battlefield effect, "As Morophon, the Boundless enters the battlefield, choose a creature type.", to trigger twice would the second choice replace the first choice? Or would they both stick?

  • What do you mean exactly? A card like Flicker? – Glorfindel Jul 3 '19 at 8:13
  • I was actually thinking of Yarok, the Desecrated, from the new Core Set, it has "If a permanent entering the battlefield causes the triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an additional time." as entering the battlefield is a triggered ability of Morophon it should trigger twice if Yarok is play and under your control. – Questioning Squidly Jul 3 '19 at 8:21

Morophon, the Boundless' second ability is a replacement effect:

614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . “ are replacement effects.

Replacement effects don't 'trigger' and AFAIK there is no way with the current Magic cards to make them apply twice. Yarok, the Desecrated only duplicates triggered abilities, not replacement effects. One of the rulings below the card in Gatherer mentions this as well:

Abilities that apply “as [this creature] enters the battlefield,” such as choosing a color with Diamond Knight, are also unaffected.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.