6

Let's say I have a Karn, Scion of Urza. I tick up, and one card gets exiled with a silver counter. Later, that card is processed by Wasteland Strangler, reanimated by Reanimate, and then re-exiled by Swords to Plowshares.

Can I now tick down Karn to add that card to my hand? That is, after all these interactions, does that card still have a silver counter? If not, at what point does the card lose the silver counter?

What if the card that's exiled is Eternal Scourge, and I choose to cast it from exile - does the Eternal Scourge enter the battlefield with a silver counter?

  • 1
    Counters aren't tokens and tokens aren't counters. – ikegami Jul 12 at 21:14
  • Eternal Scourge can't be exiled by Karn to begin with, because getting targeted by Karn triggers its triggered ability, and it then exiles itself before Karn's ability resolves, causing Karn's ability to fizzle. – nick012000 Jul 15 at 8:48
  • @nick012000 Karn doesn't have a way to target an in-play Eternal Scourge, and can definitely exile Eternal Scourge when it ticks up. – Allure Jul 15 at 8:53
  • @Allure double checks the Karn in the link Oh, I thought it was the other Karn that exiled things in play. – nick012000 Jul 15 at 13:53
10

No, the counter does not stay on the card in situations like those. Rule 122.2 says

Counters on an object are not retained if that object moves from one zone to another. The counters are not “removed”; they simply cease to exist. See rule 400.7.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.