-1

I have been reading up on the stack and how it works, which confuses me even more in certain situations.

1) I have Sigil Captain on the battlefield. My opponent has Engineered Plague with soldier as the chosen creature type. Now I summon a Kor Duelist. What happens? What is the sequence of triggers? Does it die on entering the battlefield, does it get the +1/+1 counters?

2) I have Sigil Captain and Veteran Armorsmith on the battlefield. Again I summon a Kor Duelist. I would guess it becomes a 1/1 with 2 +1/+1 counters and then again a +0/+1 from the Veteran Armorsmith but is this correct?

3) I have 2 Sigil Captains out, again I summon a Kor Duelist. Does it trigger 2 times resulting in a +5/+5? Because it is still a 1/1 creature even though it has +1/+1 counters on it from the first Sigil Captain.

4) Now I have a Spellheart Chimera that is attacking (3 instants in graveyard, so a 3/3). We go into the declare blockers step and my opponent blocks with an Angel of Light. I Lightning Bolt it. It resolves, kills the angel and then goes into the graveyard? resulting in 4 instants in the graveyard in the combat damage step. Making my Spellheart Chimera a 4/3 that deals 4 trample damage to my opponent. Or does the lightning bolt go to the graveyard at the end of combat?

I get the stack and the flow of it, but it is kinda confusing with static abilities from creatures or artifacts.

closed as too broad by ryanyuyu, Joe W, KMR, Nij, L. Scott Johnson Jul 15 at 1:40

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 5
    Please limit the scope of your question to a single question. Notably the situations with the sigil captains are similar enough to be in the same question, but the Chimera is a completely different thing. – ryanyuyu Jul 14 at 20:07
2

Static abilities operate continuously.[CR 604.1] The -1/-1 from Engineered Plague and the +0/+1 from Veteran Armorsmith apply as soon as the Kor Duelist enters the battlefield. There is no moment when they don't apply.

Sigil Captain's triggered ability contains an intervening “if” clause. A triggered ability with a false intervening “if” clause when it would trigger doesn't trigger.[CR 603.4] A triggered ability with a false intervening “if” clause when it would resolves is removed from the stack instead.[CR 608.2]

In (1), the Sigil Captain's triggered ability doesn't trigger because the Kor enters as a 0/0.

In (2), the Sigil Captain's triggered ability doesn't trigger because the Kor enters as a 1/2.

In (3), the triggered ability of both Sigil Captains trigger and are added to the stack (in the order of your choice). When the one added second resolves, it grants two +1/+1 counters to the Kor Duelist. When the one added first would resolve, it's simply removed from the stack instead since the Kor Duelist is currently 3/3.


Spells are moved from the stack to the graveyard (Sorceries and Instants)[CR 608.2k] or the battlefield (others)[CR 608.3] as they finish resolving.

In (4), the the Spellheart Chimera becomes a 4/3 as soon the Lightning Bolt finishes resolving, so it deals 4 trample damage .

1

A kind soul answered them on another board. Thought I post his answer here aswell.

1) The Kor enters as a 0/0. It dies. It was never a 1/1. The Captain does not trigger.

2) The Kor enters as a 1/2. Again, it was never a 1/1. The Captain does not trigger.

3) The Kor (FINALLY) enters as a 1/1. The two Captains trigger. The first Captain trigger to resolve gives the Kor two +1/+1 counters. It's NOW a 3/3. The second Captain trigger fails to do anything. Since the Kor is currently a 3/3 and not a 1/1.

4) The Chimera currently has a Power of 4. It has Trample. It will assign/deal 4 damage to the Defending Player.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.