1

In a game of Exploding Kittens, what happens when a chain of attack cards is terminated by a Nope card?

For example;

  • Player A plays an Attack card
  • Player B plays an Attack card
  • Player C plays an Attack card
  • Player D plays a Nope card

What happens exactly?

  • 1
    Welcome to the site! If you have two questions, please post them as two separate posts rather than combining them like this. – Benjamin Cosman Jul 15 at 22:00
  • 1
    But what i wanted to do at that moment was to place nope card not as my turn but so as would any person do so that i would nope players C attack card but not as in my turn/ i was. Really meant to ask this so does something change then? – WildFrogLT Jul 16 at 6:41
5

Player D nopes the attack card of player C. So it is still player C's turn and he/she has to resolve the double attack.

See this question for the resolution of the double attack.

  • But what i wanted to do at that moment was to place nope card not as my turn but so as would any person do so that i would nope players C attack card but not as in my turn/ i was. Really meant to ask this so does something change then? – WildFrogLT Jul 16 at 6:58
  • 2
    You play the Nope as a reaction to the Attack. So the Attack did not happen. – Toon Krijthe Jul 16 at 7:17
  • The rules posted in the linked answer suggest that player C would be taking 4 turns in "full" rules and 2 turns in "nerfed" rules. I don't know enough about the game to say which rules are the real/current ones. Could you update this answer to clarify, so we do get exactly what happens? – Jontia Jul 16 at 9:48
  • 1
    @Jontia, Covered by my answer – ikegami Jul 16 at 9:57
5

Nope cards aren't played on your own turn.

You can play a Nope card at any time before an action has begun, even if it’s not your turn

You play them as a reaction to the card whose effect you want to nullify before it takes effect.

Stop any action except for an Exploding Kitten or a Defuse card.

The scenario:

  1. Player A plays an Attack card.
    1. The Attack cards takes effect (ending their turn and giving Player B two turns).
  2. Player B plays an Attack card.
    1. The Attack cards takes effect (ending their turns and giving Player C four turns).
  3. Player C plays an Attack card.
    1. Player D plays a Nope card.
      1. The Nope card takes effect (canceling the Attack card)

Because the Attack card had no effect, it's still Player C's turn. In fact, Player C has three other turns after this one (because of Player A's and Player B's attacks).


Note the original ("nerfed version" of the) rules did not have chained Attacks carry forth extra turns, so C would only have one extra turn rather than three.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.