1

Let's say D.D. Esper Star Sparrow was special summoned from graveyard by its own effect, then Compulsory Evacuation Device was activated on him.

D.D. Esper Star Sparrow:

There can only be 1 "D.D. Esper Star Sparrow" on the field. Your opponent cannot target other monsters you control with effects or for attacks. When an opponent's monster declares a direct attack while this card is in your Graveyard: You can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard in face-up Defense Position. If Summoned this way, banish it when it leaves the field.

Compulsory Evacuation Device:

Target 1 monster on the field; return that target to the hand.

Is the monster returned to hand or banished?

3

It will be banished.
Any way that a card with this effect gets removed from the field will result in it being banished. This is because the banish effect sort of redirects the monster and so overrules the original effect.

You can see this in the rulings of Dark Magician of Chaos:

When "Dark Magician of Chaos" is sent to your hand by "Penguin Soldier", it is removed from play instead.

I can see only 2 ways of getting this monster off the field without it getting banished:
- Destroying or bouncing it while facedown (battle doesn't work as it will get flipped)
- Using it for an Xyz summon, as this does not count as removing it from the field

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.