0

A player has several melds but no canastas. The player has only one card left in his hand. He picks up a card that he can add to one of his melds - but not enough to make a canasta. Can he add that card to a meld and discard his remaining card. On the next turn he has to pick up a card and immediately discard it. Is this correct ?

1

They will not be able to pick up a card that they can add to an existing meld unless there are multiple cards on the discard pile.

Rules

A player with only one card left in their hand may not take the discard pile if there is only one card in it.

Also they can't discard the last card unless they have a canasta on the table

A player goes out when they get rid of the last card in their hand by discarding or melding it, provided that their side has melded at least one canasta or they complete a canasta while going out. Failing this requirement, a player must keep at least one card in their hand. When a player goes out, the hand ends and the results on both sides are scored.

  • So a player with no canastas and with just one card in his hand can simply discard the pick up for ever until someone wins. Is that correct ? – tony b Jul 30 at 18:28
  • That depends, if they are just one card away from a canasta they can hope to draw the correct card. Or if they are playing with a partner they can hope their partner can finish one. Otherwise they are just out of luck and hope the other player doesn't run the score up. – Joe W Jul 30 at 18:52
  • So does that mean that a player has to have a card in his hand while it is not his turn or a card in his hand while it is his turn - i.e picked up from the stock and immediately discarded – tony b Aug 10 at 11:31
  • A player always has to have at least one card in hand until they go out – Joe W Aug 11 at 3:26
  • So that means he has to have at least two cards before he can discard ? – tony b Aug 11 at 8:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.