9

In the base Catan rule book it says 'keep victory points cards hidden until you have 10 points in your turn and you can declare victory. (You should also reveal them if someone else wins.)

Why should a player reveal his victory points if someone else wins?

Can you please clarify what this means?

13

You should reveal everything when the game ends so that

  1. You know who came second
  2. You know all the bits end up back in the box
  3. You know someone hasn't made a mistake and failed to claim victory.

The rules state.

If you have 10 or more victory points during your turn the game ends and you are the winner.

Which can be interpreted to mean you don't have to 'say' you have won and people can keep rolling and building, but you are already the winner.

Though this is controversial. And Here, and here.

  • 3
    Pretty much exactly what I was about to write up, except with a different link that I'll leave here for reference: boardgames.stackexchange.com/a/21107/16063 – TheThirdMan Jul 28 at 19:19
  • @TheThirdMan a much better link. Thanks. Everyone Feel free to edit in more if you find them. – Jontia Jul 28 at 19:23
  • 2
    It also stating that the points in your hand counts if you are tracking scores between games. I I have heard of tournaments where amount of point scored affected your placing. – Styxsksu Jul 29 at 13:52
  • Thanks for the help guys. I really appreciate! – Brian Mifsud Jul 29 at 20:12
  • 1
    @BrianMifsud Please note that "Thank you"-styled comments are actually discouraged for the purpose of keeping the information down to a usable minimum. Instead, if you feel like your question has been sufficiently answered, please consider accepting an answer, which doesn't only mark this question as solved, but also awards you and the answerer a small number of points! – TheThirdMan Jul 30 at 22:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.