6

Imagine I'm playing vs Boggles Auras. Her Boggle has a Rancor and a Daybreak Coronet.

I cast Archmage's Charm on the Rancor.

Does the Rancor stay enchanting the Boggle?

  • The question's title and text have conflicting logical orientations (i.e., "stop being attached" vs "stay enchanting", which is confusing. I am going to edit the title to match the question's text. – RBarryYoung Aug 9 at 20:57
  • OK, I am not going to do that because another edit is still pending... – RBarryYoung Aug 9 at 20:57
  • While one can conclude from context that you're choosing the "Gain control of target nonland permanent with converted mana cost 1 or less." mode, I think that should be made explicit. – Acccumulation Aug 10 at 19:47
10

Yes, most of the times it doesn't matter who controls the aura and who controls the creature. There are a handful of exceptions, e.g. Cartouche of Knowledge which can only enchant a creature you control; if you'd steal one of them it would stop enchanting a legal target and be put into its owner's graveyard.

303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

Note that stealing an Aura isn't really useful if the Aura grants a bonus/ability to the creature (which is most of the time); it might be useful if the Aura has an ability itself.

303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesn’t change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Aura’s controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with “gains” or “has”), the enchanted object’s controller is the only one who can activate that ability.

  • 1
    Also, any references to "you" refer to the owner of the aura. So gaining control of an aura that says "You control enchanted creature" would mean that you control the enchanted creature. – Acccumulation Aug 10 at 19:49
  • @Acccumulation Unless I'm mistaken, it refers to the controller of the aura, who might not currently be the owner. – eyeballfrog Aug 12 at 14:13
  • @eyeballfrog You're right, if they're different, it's the controller. – Acccumulation Aug 13 at 13:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.