1

There is this card "Predict" that reads

Name a card, then put the top card of target player's library into his or her graveyard. If that card is the named card, you draw two cards. Otherwise, you draw a card.

Reading its text on Gatherer.Wizards.com, the Oracle text reads as

Choose a card name, then target player puts the top card of their library into their graveyard. If that card has the chosen name, you draw two cards. Otherwise, you draw a card.

My doubt is, can I name a basic land card?

3

Yes. Basic land cards are cards, so you can choose their names when instructed to choose a card name.

Rule 201.3 governs choosing card names:

If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the player must choose the name of a card in the Oracle card reference. (See rule 108.1.) A player may not choose the name of a token unless it’s also the name of a card.

Basic land cards are in the Oracle reference, so you can choose them.

1

Note that several cards, such as Desperate Research, say "Name a card other than a basic land." The fact that Predict doesn't is a strong indication that they are valid names. Cards in MTG generally mean exactly what they say, nothing more and nothing less.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.