2

Inspired by this question, I was curious if removing one vertical column of tiles would change the result. Id est for the following configuration:

H░█░
░█░M

is the Monster (M) a valid target for a ranged Hero (H) attack through the Obstacles (█)?

My thoughts are that M is a valid target for H because a line can traced from the top right corner of H to the bottom left corner of M that merely passes through the corner (specifically not along the edge) of both obstacles.

1

TL;DR Yes

Please have a look at the below given sketch. The line through the upper right corner A = (1,2) of the ranged Hero and the bottom left corner B = (3,0) of the monster is described by the equation y = -x+3. This line doesn't intersect any of both given obstacles since for any x < 2 the corresponding value of y is greater than 1 and for any x > 2 is smaller than 1. Hence, the solely common point is C = (2,1). Since the line (quoting "Line of Sight" (page 12) from the Rules of Play)

only touches the corner of a blocked space (without passing through the space itself ), the target space is in line of sight.


GeoGebra scetch of corresponding configuration

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.