10

What is the converted mana cost (CMC) of land cards? Is it zero?

For example, if I have lands in the graveyard, would Sun Titan be able to bring them to the battlefield?

  • 9
    I would just like to add that a very basic question does not make a question bad. Even if this rules knowledge is a thing that most players know there still may be players that are unaware and having a canonical answer here might still prove useful. – Neil Meyer Sep 2 at 4:11
  • I'd like to add that people might forget such a rule; it happened to me that an opponent said "nope" when I said "azor's gateway trigger". Yes, a land exiled by gateway counts as a "0-CMC" card, which is indeed different than 1-,2-,3-... cmc cards. – V. Courtois Sep 2 at 14:17
  • 4
    As long as "Converted Mana Cost" and "Mana Cost" are different, and we have Modern staples featuring lands with converted mana costs (Azcanta) and cards with CMC but not a mana cost (Ancestral Recall), this actually isn't something I would necessarily classify under basic knowledge. – Chuu Sep 2 at 17:10
19

It's 0, so Sun Titan can bring them back.

This is also noted in the rulings below the card in Gatherer:

If a card in your graveyard has no mana symbols in its upper right corner (because it’s a land card, for example), its converted mana cost is 0.

: with the exception of transformed lands, as noted in @NeilMeyer's answer. This situation doesn't happen in the graveyard, though.

12

One notable exception.

Certain double-faced cards from Ixalan block become lands when they are transformed. These lands have the CMC of their front face which is often not equal to 0.

Adanto, the First Fort, the transformed side of Legion's Landing for instance, has a CMC of 1.

711.4b While a double-faced permanent’s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

10

The converted mana cost of a land card is 0

202.3a: The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0, unless that object is the back face of a double-faced permanent or is a melded permanent.

So yes, Sun Titan's triggered ability could bring a land to the battlefield.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.