-1

Possible Duplicate:
Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud?

Does this:

Day of Judgment

or other similar cards remove any hexproof / shrouded creatures?

0

1 Answer 1

1

Yes. Since the creature is not targeted, but is being affected by a global property neither hexproof nor shroud offer any protection.

702.17a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.”

702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.”

In both cases "not being targeted" is the key.

4
  • If I think through this logically it seems that this spell targets ALL creatures. How can your spell destroy a creature if it does not target it?
    – Adam Arold
    Commented Sep 26, 2011 at 13:31
  • From where did you copy that rule btw? I always see those cryptic paragraps (like 702.17a) but I don't know where do they came from.
    – Adam Arold
    Commented Sep 26, 2011 at 13:33
  • @edem : You explicitly need the keyword "target" on the card. Day of Judgment does not destroy "target creatures" but "all creatures".
    – Demento
    Commented Sep 26, 2011 at 13:35
  • 2
    @edem See the Magic Rules page. Each line of the Comprehensive Rules is numbered.
    – ghoppe
    Commented Sep 26, 2011 at 14:16

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .