13

I was playing magic the gathering with my friend, and I was using the card Zetalpa, Primal Dawn, which has indestructible. He wanted to play the card Disintegrate on the Zetalpa to destroy it, but we weren’t sure whether or not it would actually kill it.

Zetalpa, Primal Dawn card image

  • 3
    Options to get rid of an indestructible creature: Have it lose indestructible, then deal damage (Burn from within, Hour of Devastation). Exile it (Vraska's Contempt). Shuffle it into its owners library or bounce it. Have the owner sacrifice it (Priest of Forgotten Gods). Reduce its toughness to 0 using -X/-X effects (Tragic Slip). – Erik Sep 12 at 8:23
20

No. Disintegrate cannot kill Zetalpa, Primal Dawn. Creature with indestructible cannot be killed with damage.

Rules quote from comprehensive rules:

702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren’t destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g).

Disintegrate would exile Zetalpa only if Zetalpa would die. In your case Zetalpa won't leave the battlefield.

  • 2
    "Disintegrate would exile Zetalpa only if it would cause Zetalpa to die" is incorrect. It would exile it if anything causes it to die this turn. – GendoIkari Sep 16 at 13:08
  • Yes, you are right. I meant that if Zetalpa would die it would be exiled, but didn't realize that Disintegrate will exile Zetalpa anyway. I'll edit my answer. Thanks! – Aulis Ronkainen Sep 16 at 13:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.