8

Does Teferi, Time Raveler's static ability, which limits opponents' spells to sorcery 'speed', stop Enduring Ideal's Epic ability which functions during the upkeep?

  • 1
    When MTG uses a rule-defined keyword (e.g. cast), it only refers to that specific keyword and no other. copy is not cast. – ikegami Sep 13 at 9:36
14

No, it doesn't stop it. Teferi says:

Each opponent can cast spells only any time they could cast a sorcery.

(emphasis mine)

But copying a spell is different from casting it:

706.10. To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated.

Therefore, Teferi doesn't affect the Epic ability.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.