6

Aurelia's Fury and other spells like it allow me to choose any number of targets. As written, it implies I can choose more than X targets.

Can I, for instance, cast Aurelia's Fury where X = 5 and target 5 of my opponent's creatures, as well as all of my heroic creatures, and then choose to deal one damage to each of my opponent's creatures (leaving my creatures unharmed)? Or am I required to choose targets in some way such that the spell affects them (if possible)?

14

No.

601.2d If the spell requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, the player announces the division. Each of these targets must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.

This is also mentioned in the Gatherer rulings for Aurelia's Fury:

You announce the value of X and how the damage will be divided as part of casting Aurelia’s Fury. Each chosen target must receive at least 1 damage.

  • Could you cast Aurelia's Fury with X = 0 just for the sake of targeting all of your own Heroic creatures and not dealing any damage to any of them? – user3490 Sep 25 at 11:17
  • You cannot. If you are dealing 0 damage, then you choose 0 targets because of the ruling mentioned above. – JRodge01 Sep 25 at 18:00
  • You could cast it for X=0, but it would be an untargetted spell at that point and do nothing when it resolves. – GendoIkari Sep 25 at 18:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.