When you buy resources from neighbor do you take the card or just get access to the resources you need?

  • 3
    That would make some kind of really interesting variant, but it's definitely not the basic rule :) Commented Sep 28, 2011 at 9:23

2 Answers 2


No, you do not take the card. The neighbor retains the card; you are simply allowed to use your neighbor's cards, for a fee of course.

You can also buy the resource from the top corner of the civilization cards as well. It doesn't need to be a "card".

  • 1
    I agree. Cards are not resources, it's more like a shop. You don't take the shop when you buy things in it.
    – SteeveDroz
    Commented Sep 28, 2011 at 4:47
  • 4
    But it does need to be gray or brown, stuff from yellow cards cannot be purchased.
    – jjb
    Commented Sep 28, 2011 at 22:16

Just the resources.

The rules on page 4 define things pretty well.

Cards are called "structures", the brown ones can generate "resources"

Often, a player will want to build a structure requiring resources he or she does not produce.

If these resources are produced by a neighboring city – players sitting directly to the left or right of that player – the player will be able to purchase the missing resource(s) through commerce.

In red, there is a notice:

Important : the resources are not spent during construction. They can be used each turn, for the entire game. The production of a city is never reduced (the cards played are never discarded).

Obviously if you were to take the card, the production of the city would be reduced and this is prohibited.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .