0

Player A has in play a Bazaar of Baghdad that has the following activated ability:

{T}: Draw two cards, then discard three cards.

Player B has in play a Strip Mine that has the following activated ability:

{T}: Sacrifice Strip Mine: Destroy target land.

Please correct any of the two sequences below if they violate any rules. My understanding is as follows for the situations in which the two players activate their lands' abilities in different permutations (namely, that the board state afterwards doesn't commute relative to different orders of activations):

If A activates their Bazaar of Baghdad's ability and, in response, B activates their Strip Mine ability targeting A's Bazaar of Baghdad, the latter gets placed on the stack after Bazaar of Baghdad's ability get placed on the stack. We resolve Strip Mine's land destruction ability first, after which wish to resolve A's Bazaar of Baghdad ability. However, since Bazaar of Baghdad is destroyed, its ability doesn't get executed.

B activates their Strip Mine's ability targeting A's Bazaar of Baghdad and, in response, A activates their Bazaar of Baghdad ability. The latter gets placed on the stack after the Strip Mine destruction ability. We resolve the card drawing and discard first, after which we resolve B's destruction ability.

  • 2
    The answer from the linked duplicate, in short, is that the sentence in bold is incorrect. – murgatroid99 Oct 4 at 22:43