5

This question already has an answer here:

Let's say I activate Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability while there is a Sphere of Resistance out. Do I have to pay 1 mana for each of the cards that are spells that I play from Golos?

marked as duplicate by JonTheMon, Aulis Ronkainen, Joe W, Toon Krijthe, Glorfindel Oct 10 at 8:00

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

6

Yes, you have to pay 1 mana in this case. Golos' ability introduces a so-called 'alternative cost':

118.9. Some spells have alternative costs. An alternative cost is a cost listed in a spell’s text, or applied to it from another effect, that its controller may pay rather than paying the spell’s mana cost. Alternative costs are usually phrased, “You may [action] rather than pay [this object’s] mana cost,” or “You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost.” ...

The exiled card's original mana cost is waived, but not the additional costs like the one from Sphere of Resistance:

601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. ...

  • 1
    Alright. That is what my gut was saying, but I Golos's effect saying "play" instead of "cast" confused me. I assumed they added play instead of cast so you could play a land from the 3 cards that are exiled. – Shadow Z. Oct 9 at 15:36
  • @ShadowZ. Correct; "play" means "either cast a spell or play a land". – GendoIkari Oct 9 at 15:54

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.