1

Adarkar Valkyrie's third ability targets a creature and creates a delayed triggered ability that returns that creature to the battlefield when it dies this turn. It clearly targets the creature on the battlefield to create the delayed trigger.

Does that triggered ability also target the card that goes to the graveyard?

For example, does Ground Seal prevent the trigger from resolving?

5

Adarkar Valkyrie's ability does not target anything in the graveyard.

As mentioned in the question, the activated ability clearly targets a creature on the battlefield using the phrase "target creature". That creates a triggered ability that effectively says

When (that creature) dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control.

The creature that the trigger condition checks is fixed as the activated ability resolves. It is not a target that you choose while putting the triggered ability on the stack.

  • It doesn't 'check' the target twice, the same way that some spells and abilities check legal targets once upon casting/activating and again upon resolving? – Aetherfox Oct 11 at 18:03
  • The activated ability is what has the target, and that target is checked twice as you describe. It then creates a delayed triggered ability that doesn't have a target. – murgatroid99 Oct 11 at 18:06
  • I have modified my last paragraph to try to explain this better. – murgatroid99 Oct 11 at 18:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.