Today I made my first ALL Wild card Canasta with six 2's and a Joker in Classic Canasta :O)

How much is this worth please?

Also, it was concealed... does that 'Up' the bonus?

  • Are you playing classic Canasta or modern/American Canasta? – GendoIkari Oct 17 '19 at 14:50
  • Hiya, We are playing Classic here in Surrey in the UK. – Lorna Millaarr Oct 17 '19 at 16:29

In Classic Canasta, a Canasta of only wilds is not a legal/valid meld.

From the rules:

Every meld, whether a Canasta or not, must contain at least 2 natural cards, and it cannot contain more than 3 total wild cards.

Every meld must contain at least two natural cards. The smallest meld, as usual, consists of three cards, which could be three natural cards (such as 8-8-8) or two natural cards and a wild card (such as Q-Q-2).

Melds can grow as large as you wish. A meld of seven or more cards counts as a canasta. No meld can contain more than three wild cards - so a six card meld must include at least three natural cards, and a canasta must contain at least four natural cards. There is no limit on the number of natural cards that can be added to a complete canasta. A wild card added to a pure canasta of course makes it mixed. Once a canasta contains three wild cards, no further wild cards can be added.

Note that in this version of Canasta, melds consisting entirely of wild cards are not allowed.

American/Modern Canasta does allow a meld or Canasta of all Wilds; but that is a less common variant than Classic Canasta. In American Canasta, a wild Canasta that contains jokers and 2s, without containing all 4 jokers, is worth 2000 points (in addition to the value of the 2s and jokers in the meld).


  • a complete twos canasta scores 3000 points (this is a wild canasta made entirely of twos)
  • a complete joker canasta scores 2500 points (this must contain all four jokers, together with three twos)
  • any other complete wild canasta (containing one, two or three jokers) scores 2000 points
| improve this answer | |
  • Oh noooooooo! I was soo pleased with myself but thank you for putting us right. – Lorna Millaarr Oct 17 '19 at 17:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.