4

I have a benched Incineroar (Unbroken Bonds 29) with Strong Cheer ability.

Strong Cheer
Your Pokémon's attacks do 30 more damage to your opponent's Active Pokémon (before applying Weakness and Resistance). You can't apply more than 1 Strong Cheer Ability at a time.

If I have an active Cosmog (Sun & Moon 64) with Dust Gathering attack, does it do 30 damage? I assume Strong Cheer would make it do 30 damage, but I have been unable to find clarification online.

[C] Dust Gathering
Draw a card.

Incineroar UNB 29 Cosmog SUM 64

6

Using Dust Gathering with a benched Incineroar with Strong Cheer ability does no damage.

From the official Rulings Compendium BW:

An attack has to do "some" damage before an effect can add "more" damage to it. (Jan 31, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

| improve this answer | |
  • This is generally true in the game - for example, if something makes a card have "no retreat cost", nothing can add to the retreat cost, but if the retreat cost is reduced to 0 then it can. – Joe Oct 25 '19 at 19:38
  • thanks for the link to the rules compendium -- I'd looked for something like that, but was unable to find it. – Kem Mason Nov 18 '19 at 23:18
  • Does this rule still hold for something like poisoning? This does no damage until Pokémon checkup, which is after the attack. – Beerhunter Jun 20 at 15:11
  • Poison does no damage, it puts damage counters which is a different thing :-) – Kate Miháliková Jun 20 at 15:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.