0

By using Tour Guide from the Underworld, special summoned Lilith Lady of Lament.

Q: Can Lilith's effect of tributing monster still be activated? As, tributing 1 dark monster (as a cost), but not have the ability to take 3 traps from the deck.

Tour Guide from the Underworld:

When this card is Normal Summoned: You can Special Summon 1 Level 3 Fiend monster from your hand or Deck, but it has its effects negated, also it cannot be used as a Synchro Material.

Lilith Lady of Lament:

If this card is Normal Summoned, its original ATK becomes 1000. (Quick Effect): You can Tribute 1 DARK monster; reveal 3 Normal Traps from your Deck, your opponent randomly chooses 1 for you to Set on your field, and you shuffle the rest back into your Deck. You can only use this effect of "Lilith, Lady of Lament" once per turn.

4

Yes, Lillith's Effect Can Still Be Activated.

Tour Guide From the Underworld's effect states that the effects of the Special Summoned Monster are negated - not that they may not be activated. The distinction is important, because simply negating the effects of a card does not disallow attempts to activate those effects.

Applying the concept in the opposite direction, consider Majesty's Fiend, which simply says:

Monster effects cannot be activated.

Given that continuous monster effects are not impacted by effects like that of Majesty's Fiend, we can clearly see a separation. In conclusion, unless the card specifically says "cannot be activated," or some rearrangement thereof, you can still attempt to activate the effect - provided of course that you can pay activation cost.

  • 2
    In other words. You can activate it, but it will not resolve. Useful when you want to tribute a monster – DarkCygnus Oct 31 at 21:30
0

https://www.reddit.com/r/Yugioh101/comments/8pf1bg/how_tour_guide_helps_in_lair_of_darkness_deck/

From googling and reading that reddit post my conclusion is that you can activate the effect of lilith and sacrifice and enemy monster if you got lair of darkness but you can't reveal 3 normal traps etc because the effect is negated. So as I understand its not the activation thats activated only the effect. That means tributing a dark monster works but you don't gain anything from it. But I am ofter confused my yu gi oh effects so curious if someone else gives a better answer

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.