If I use Priest of Forgotten Gods' ability to sacrifice two creatures, does it proc Korvold, Fae-Cursed King's ability twice? My doubt stems from the fact that the sacrifice of the creatures occurs simultaneously.

I think it should proc twice since I believe to have seen Mayhem Devil's ability proccing twice under similar circumstances, but I'd appreciate some explicit reference to relevant rules if possible.

  • If it wouldn't be triggered, the wording would read "if/whenever one or more [things happen]".
    – Erik
    Nov 4 '19 at 9:37
  • Specifically, Korvold's ability would read "When(ever?) you sacrifice one or more permanents", triggering once for the sacrificing, instead of once per permanent.
    – Jorn
    Nov 4 '19 at 15:33

Yes, activating Priest of the Forgotten Gods' ability and sacrificing two creatures simultaneously triggers Korvold's last ability twice.

Rule 603.2c says this:

603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.

Example: A permanent has an ability whose trigger condition reads, “Whenever a land is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” If someone casts a spell that destroys all lands, the ability will trigger once for each land put into the graveyard during the spell’s resolution.

In this case, the single event of activating Priest of the Forgotten Gods contains two occurrences of sacrificing a creature, so Korvold's ability that triggers "Whenever you sacrifice a permanent" triggers twice.

  • There are cases that are more complicated, however. For instance, if something triggers on scrying, then three instances of scry 1 will trigger it three times, but one instance of scry 3 will trigger it only once. Nov 5 '19 at 21:28
  • In general, the numeric parameter of a keyword ability or action does not mean "do something N times".
    – murgatroid99
    Nov 5 '19 at 21:35
  • Is it worth mentioning "Whenever one or more..." triggers, or are they too self evident? Nov 6 '19 at 6:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.