0

Mewtwo-EX from BREAKthrough has a Damage Change attack:

PPC Damage Change
Switch all damage counters on this Pokémon with those on your opponent's Active Pokémon.

The Damage Change attack states that the damage counters are switched onto that of the opponent. Does that literally mean exchange or put the counters on? I think the former, but the phrasing is ambiguous.

Mewtwo-EX BRK 62 Mewtwo-EX BRK 158

  • Thank you for the awesome editing – Beerhunter Nov 28 '19 at 21:51
3

The wording says "Switch all damage counters on this Pokémon with those on your opponent's Active Pokémon". The word "switch" indicates it's exchange. So your interpretation is correct.

Example: Mewtwo has taken 50 points of damage, while opponent has taken 20 points. After using Damage Change, Mewtwo has taken 20 points of damage, while opponent has taken 50 points.

  • Not the answer I was looking for as it's my card! However, I didn't want to cheat. Thanks. – Beerhunter Nov 15 '19 at 7:59
1

While there isn't a specific ruling in the Compendium, there is a ruling in the compendium that implies that swapping is correct. (As a general rule, "Move..." would be used if they meant just move the damage counters to the other Pokémon.)

Damage Change (Mewtwo EX - BREAKthrough)

Q. What happens if Mewtwo EX uses its "Damage Change" attack against a Pokemon that blocks effects of attacks? Does nothing happen, or does Mewtwo EX get to remove its damage counters?

A. Mewtwo-EX would remove its damage counters, but the opponent's Active Pokemon would not remove nor receive any. If you try to move damage to something that blocks effects, the damage disappears. If you try to move damage from something that blocks effects, the damage stays there. (Oct 29, 2015 TPCi Rules Team) [/quote]

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.