5

Let's say I have an Immortal Phoenix in my hand, and an opponent casts a Reaper of Night (the adventure, not the creature). If I discard the Phoenix, will it return to my hand?

13

No, it won't. Dies is a term with a very specific meaning: it means to be put in the graveyard from the battlefield. If it is put there from your hand, the ability won't trigger.

700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.