-1

Let's says I'm blocking with a Hitchclaw Recluse (a green spider with reach that is a 1/4) and I have cast the instant Woodcutter's Grit which targets the Hitchclaw recluse giving it +3/+3 + hexproof. So now it's a 4/7 hexproof reach spider blocking a Coast Watcher, a bird soldier with flying and protection from green and my opponent had cast Inspired Charge in retaliation.

  • 7
    I don't see a question here. – jwodder Nov 25 '19 at 21:09
8

Hitchclaw Recluse can't block Coast Watcher, even though it has reach.

One of the qualities offered by protection from green is that the creature can't be blocked by green creatures. Hexproof doesn't matter; the spider isn't being targeted by Coast Watcher. So the other instants cast don't matter.

| improve this answer | |
  • Since I put hexproof on my green spider wouldn't that effect the protection from Green since it makes it so it can not be a targeted by the Spells or abilities and protection from Green would be in ability of that card ? – Zatch Ironhammer Nov 25 '19 at 20:01
  • 2
    @Zatch Ironhammer, Protection from Green is an ability, but it doesn't target. 702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.” 702.16b A permanent or player with protection can’t be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can’t be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality. – ikegami Nov 25 '19 at 20:12
  • 3
    @ZatchIronhammer See this question for more info on what it means to "target" something: Which spells or abilities are affected by things that care about targeting? – Miles Budnek Nov 25 '19 at 20:20
  • If, somehow, Hitchclaw Recluse did block Coast Watcher (perhaps because Hitchclaw Recluse had its color changed when blockers were declared and then had its color changed again back to green before damage was dealt): when damage is dealt, Hitchclaw Recluse would be dealt 3 damage (Coast Watcher is a 3/2), and Coast Watcher would be dealt 0 damage (protection from green means it can't be dealt damage by green sources). Barring any other actions, both creatures would survive. – Aetherfox Nov 25 '19 at 20:59

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.