8

If my opponent Mindslavers me, and then I Mindslaver myself, does it "override" my opponent's control? I assume it works the same as if someone, for example, Act of Treasons on a creature, and then someone else Act of Treasons it, simply gaining control again, but just making sure.

7
  • How do you plan to Mindslaver yourself if your opponent is controlling you?
    – Glorfindel
    Nov 26, 2019 at 19:21
  • @Glorfindel Because his opponent forced him to presumably.
    – GendoIkari
    Nov 26, 2019 at 19:30
  • 6
    I'd like some clarification on the timing here. Presumably the opponent activated his Mindslaver during his own turn. When are you activating your Mindslaver? During that same turn, while the opponent's Mindslaver's ability is on the stack? During that same turn, right after the opponent's Mindslaver's ability has resolved? During your own turn, while your opponent is controlling you? In that last case, I don't think there's any interesting interaction, since your Mindslaver will give you control of your next turn, not your current turn.
    – Kevin
    Nov 26, 2019 at 19:31
  • The timing is irrelevant to the question, considering the specification of which came first present in "and then" i mindslaver myself, but if you insist, my opponent mindslavers me on his turn. It resolves. Then i mindslaver myself, when i next recieve priority.
    – CollinB
    Nov 26, 2019 at 19:35
  • Thanks for clarifying, it makes sense to me now :-) I guess my confusion was in what the shorthand of "to mindslaver" stands for. If it means "activate and then resolve Mindslaver's ability", then yours resolves last. If it means "activate Mindslaver's ability and pass priority", then yours resolves first.
    – Kevin
    Nov 26, 2019 at 19:39

1 Answer 1

16

Yes, your own control effect will override your opponent's, and you will make your own decisions.

716.1a Multiple player-controlling effects that affect the same player overwrite each other. The last one to be created is the one that works.

716.9. A player may gain control of themselves. That player will make their own decisions and choices as normal.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .