0

I declare Grizzly Bears as an attacker. My opponent moves to declare blockers, and decides to block the bears with an Air Elemental. Looking at the creature’s power and toughness, I notice my bears are going to die, so I cast Titanic Growth in order to make my bears more powerful. But, in response to my last spell, opponent casts Shock in order to kill the bears before the titanic growth resolves. In such a situation, do the Bears deal their 2 damage to Air Elemental, as the fight has been done just the same, or do the bears go directly to the graveyard without dealing their damage to the blocking creature?

2

Combat damage no longer uses the stack, so no: your Bears don't do 2 damage. Before the M2010 rules update, the Bears would indeed do 2 damage.

| improve this answer | |
  • I'm waiting for other answers - if them will be there - before accepting this one,but I'm sure it is a good answer. I have been stuck in this kind of change in rulings too many times, and this could be one more time for me to do this. – ManoFromBerlin Nov 27 '19 at 11:12
  • Said this, the only possibility for the bears to deal their 2 damage and survive is to use something like healing salve (more than only one...). It is correct? – ManoFromBerlin Nov 27 '19 at 11:54
  • 1
    @Massimiliano still dead because Shock kills the Bears before they deal damage. But there are tons of ways in which the bears can survive and still do damage, e.g. with a Vivien Reid emblem. – Allure Nov 27 '19 at 12:07
  • Healing Salve should work fine; preventing the damage that would be done by Shock. – GendoIkari Nov 27 '19 at 14:21
  • 1
    @Massimiliano There are plenty of ways. Casting another Titanic Growth would work. – Acccumulation Nov 27 '19 at 18:14
5

The Grizzly Bears don't deal combat damage to the Air Elemental

Assuming no more instants or abilities are added to the stack after Shock, the stack will resolve.

First, Shock will resolve, causing your bears to die.

Then, Titanic Growth will resolve: it can't find the creature you targeted, so it effectively does nothing.

Finally, since the stack is empty and players have passed priority, we move to combat damage. There are no attackers, so no combat damage is dealt.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    "Effectively does nothing" is an understatement. According to the rules (608.2b), it "doesn’t resolve. It’s removed from the stack and, if it’s a spell, put into its owner’s graveyard." – Arthur Nov 27 '19 at 15:33
  • The question was phrased as an either/or rather than yes/no, so I don't think it should be answered with a "no". – Acccumulation Nov 27 '19 at 18:16
  • 2
    As Arthur pointed out; "Giant Growth will resolve" is incorrect. – GendoIkari Nov 27 '19 at 19:12
  • 3
    Suggested rewording: "Then, it comes time for Titanic Growth to resolve. But instead of resolving, it's removed from the stack for having no legal targets. It doesn't do anything." – ikegami Nov 28 '19 at 0:14
  • It sounds good. You are really great in rewording, Ikegami. Please,look after the latest question I have just asked for... – ManoFromBerlin Nov 28 '19 at 15:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.