0

If I play Gather the Townsfolk, does Champion get 3 counters or 4?

  • 2
    "Whenever" indicates a triggered ability, but HS has a static ability that creates a continuous effect that's a replacement effect. Avoid using "when" or "whenever" for these. – ikegami Nov 28 '19 at 0:10
5

Four.

When the two tokens enter the battlefield, Champion of Lambholt's triggered ability triggers twice. It will be placed on the stack twice. When the topmost instance resolves, it would add a +1/+1 counter to Champion of Lambholt. Instead, it adds one extra, so two. When the other instance resolves, it will also add two, so a total of 4 +1/+1 counters are added to Champion of Lambholt.

  • Is this an issue of timing (one token gets summoned, then another, in near instant time), or are the tokens spawning simultaneously but each token is a valid trigger for Champion (causing each trigger to be an isolated incident, and both valid for Scales)? – Daniel Zastoupil Nov 28 '19 at 0:00
  • 1
    It depends on the wording of the trigger condition. If it says "Whenever one or more creature enters the battlefield", then the ability would only trigger once when GotT resolves. But here we have the far more common "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield". It doesn't matter if it enters at the same time as another creature. 603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences – ikegami Nov 28 '19 at 0:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.