6

The big issue that needs to be addressed is that face-down creatures don't actually have a name.

So while Maelstrom Pulse would normally remove most creature tokens just fine, its effect on face-down creatures is a bit ambiguous.

What's the rule on this?

10

A Gatherer ruling on Maelstrom Pulse addresses this:

A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn’t have the same name as anything else.

So, if you target a face-down creature with Maelstrom Pulse, nothing else will be destroyed.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.