8

Me and the person I'm playing with were making Brawl decks. And we got into an argument about if Prismite was colorless or all colors. So which is it?

12

It's colorless:

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

Prismite's ability says: "{2}: Add one mana of any color." and not "{2}: Add {W}, {U}, {B}, {R} or {G}." No mana symbols appear in the rules text, so it's colorless.

Note that Brawl uses the same definition of 'color identity' as Commander:

903.11a Brawl is an option for a different style of Commander game. Brawl games use the normal rules for the Commander variant with the following modifications.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.