5

I'm building my first sliver deck.

If I have two Tempered Slivers on the battle field and a Sliver I control deals damage to a player, would it get one +1/+1 counter or two.

My gut is telling me it would be just the one.

1
6

The sliver in case would, in fact, get 2 +1/+1 counters.


This is because of rule 113.2c, which I quote, with the relevant bit emphasized:

113.2c An object may have multiple abilities. If the object is represented by a card, then aside from certain defined abilities that may be strung together on a single line (see rule 702, “Keyword Abilities”), each paragraph break in a card’s text marks a separate ability. If the object is not represented by a card, the effect that created it may have given it multiple abilities. An object may also be granted additional abilities by a spell or ability. If an object has multiple instances of the same ability, each instance functions independently. This may or may not produce more effects than a single instance; refer to the specific ability for more information.

The part in bold font means that your slivers (including your Tempered Slivers) have, besides their other abilities, two instances of

"Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, put a +1/+1 counter on it".

Both instances will trigger independently, giving your slivers two +1/+1 counters.

3
  • Happy days, I'll add the 4 of them in then!
    – Phil3992
    Dec 10 '19 at 13:01
  • 1
    @Phil3992 I can guarantee you'll have a lot of fun with Sliver decks. I can also guarantee your friends will not. (Jokes aside, it's a pretty fun deck to play with when you have a bunch of big creatures with trample, haste, flying, and a couple +1/+1 counters and buffs).
    – J. Sallé
    Dec 10 '19 at 13:04
  • With Bonescythe Sliver or Fury Sliver you can have them getting twice as many +1/+1 counters per turn.
    – CALEB F
    Dec 10 '19 at 16:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.