Somebody (who was also the banker) just landed on my Vine street with a hotel on it and needed to pay me $1000. However, he gave me an extra $100 bill, which both of us did not notice.
Two other players rolled the dice and took their turns.
After I also took my turn, I started to develop my Yellow group with 7 houses (I had $27 left at the end of the process) and the person who landed on my hotel found out that I had $100 more than I should have had, while he was $100 short. He demanded his money back and that meant I had to sell the houses to pay the "debt".
According to the rules, do I have to?